To Britta with love_Jill Teck

För flera år sedan läste jag en intressant artikel om kvinnan Jill Teck. Hon fick akut leukemi 1994, tillfrisknade från sjukdomen och skrev sedan en bok om hennes upplevelser om sjukdom och helande. Ja, jag fann artikeln så intressant att jag beställde boken från hennes hemsida. Jag fick två böcker. En som jag skulle kunna låna ut till en vän och en till mig själv:
 
To Britta with love
Jill teck

Jag har läst den här boken flera gånger och något i boken klingar välbekant. Nej, vi människor är inga isolerade öar – vi är mer lika än vad vi tror ibland.

Boken börjar med en dikt som hennes vän Sarah Daniel skrivit i boken Leaving abuse behind: en väldigt vacker dikt. Jag har översatt vissa ord:

The beginning

The lawns are full of violets today
blue and purple splashes in the green
of deep-sprung grass. Forgotten is the gray
of cold, indifferent winter, and the lean
and careful husbanding of hope. We wake
to sudden springtime, find ourselves caressed
with scent and blossom, watch the branches take
the growth of leaves. Is no one then distressed
at Winter’s loss? Does no one mourn the fine
restraint and discipline of cold, regret
the wantonness of green that blurs the line
of cool intent? No looking back: we let
the springtime come because we know we must,
despite those bruises blooming in the dust

indifferent – likgiltigt
husbanding – hushålla med
caressed – smekt
scent – dofter
blossom – blommning
branches – kvistar
distressed- olycklig
loss – förlust
mourn – sörja
restraint – hinder
wantonness – lekfullhet
blurs – skymmer, suddar ut
line – konturen
intent – uppsåt
despite – trots
bruises – blåmärken
dust – damm, stoft, jord

Jill målade självporträtt och lyssnade till musik. Hennes sjukdom fick henne att efter hon blivit frisk se livet på ett helt annat sätt. Hon skriver ”When I emerged from my hospital cocoon for the final time, I had already begun to transform. The world had carried on without me while I had been confined, and I felt filled with a huge sense of freedom that I didn´t need to worry about the rest of the world. What a change from feeling responsible in some way for everything…”….”My sense of being loved and of being grateful to have survived made me happy just to be me. I no longer had to do anything to justify my existence”.

Bifogar länken till Jill Tecks hemsida. To Jill with love_Britta 

http://homepage.eircom.net/~maloh/jillteck/aboutme/Book/presbook.htm

Om Britta

Jag tycker om ord. Formulera ord. Skriva ned min tankar om livet. Det liv som jag aldrig helt kommer att förstå. Jag försöker bara göra det lite mera förståeligt. Genom att skriva. "I like words. Formulate words. Writing down my thoughts about life. The life that I never will completely understand. I just try to make it a little more understandable. By writing."
Det här inlägget postades i Okategoriserat. Bokmärk permalänken.

Kommentera

